View My Stats

Tuesday, February 2, 2016

The Palomars
"Jail House Bop" / "Brassy Dame" / "Space Age Chevy" (self)

The joint was jumpin'. Limber, grinning dance athletes in hipster glad rags bopped and swung atop weathered hardwood, as a dependable barkeep toweled a mug and surveyed the wall-to-wall fun.

Onstage, a three-man combo gave out with as winning, cleanly defined, and easygoing a sound backdrop as might be desired. Crack-pop snare, knowingly negotiated doghouse, steel-string swerves, impeccable guitar articulations, affably drawled narrations -- everything in its place, and a place for everything.

The Rocketz
"California Hell" (Splatterhouse Wreckords)

It's not easily done, relentlessly firing potent punk torpedoes with twanged, sway-backed 'billy charge inlaid. But Tony Slash et al make it sound deceptively simple. They're that adept at their stormful, beat-down, dirty business. Way too good to pass by, much too on-point to contest. Drop the needle, brothers and sisters, and dip hips in the taboo fracture dimension.

Recommended "Before the Night," "Stand Tall and Proud," "Bob's a Zombie," "Transylvania Express," "Curtain of Lies, "I'm Coming Home," "Pretty Fucked Up"

Saturday, January 30, 2016

The Von Rebels
"Killing Machine" (Falsetto)

Some bands master eardrum-crunching, chorded wickedness; others, determined, fleet-footed trajectory. That the Von Rebels deftly excel at both is but part of their attraction. They proffer, too, the cool, blade-edged air that marks all significant, danger zone propositions.

Recommended "Kicking Out the Devil," "Borrowed Time," "Going Postal," "Killing Machine," "Kill It," "C'mon"

VIDEO "Kicking Out the Devil"

Friday, January 29, 2016

Popa Chubby
"Big, Bad and Beautiful - live" (Cleopatra)

The sound is massive, nervy, loud, and proud. Uptempo Blues with more than enough high-steppin' Rock'n'Roll energy to electrify entire midnight cities. Given the wide-open roar of these two inflammatory discs, a Popa Chubby gig seems a non-stop party with no meaningful boundary separating stomping players from head-thrown-back, juice-laced audience.

But don't take my word for Popa Chubby's significance.

Somewhere in the eventual beyond -- misty, supernatural real estate mere earthbound sorts might call night woods, an uncharted plane jointly maintained by upper and lower eternal auspices -- a liquory convocation of passed Blues masters recognizable and obscure slouched around a shared interest:

"This Popa kid picked up on our influence," one legendary master intoned.

A Chicago firebrand from way back agreed. "Yeah. And our techniques, too!"

"Hell, he sounds like one of us!" 

Several of the gathered juke hall big wheels nodded wise assent.

"Not exactly like one of us," said a stormy fret-man. "'Cause he has his own way of sayin' things! And that keeps it all movin'!"

Recommended "One Leg At a Time," "69 Dollars," "Same Old Blues," "Take Me Back To Amsterdam," "Caffeine and Nicotine," ""

Thursday, January 28, 2016

Gutter Demons
"Unfinished Business" 

One is immediately taken by the love/hate bond these mohawked Great White North 
monster-men undeniably have with their weaponized instruments. For, just as they are judicious in coaxing from them bold, amphetamine sounds of entrancing nature, so too do they seize, batter, and abuse them with nostrils-flared, jaws-clenched, muscles a-ripple ferocity that splinters all decent. Psychobilly without apologies.

Recommended "Hellride," "Gutter Kings," "After Dark," "Invaders," "Phantom Creep," "Bloodfeast"

Tuesday, January 26, 2016

Raygun Cowboys
"Heads Are Gonna Roll" (Stomp)

It is very much to these Edmonton jukers' credit that they can at once slam rockabilly reeling and sudden-swerve punk into congenial union while establishing dramatic shared cause between gritty, chunk-a-smack onslaught and eerily beguiling horns. There is, too, a mature depth involved that merits remark -- though it never eclipses the headlong action. 

Recommended "Heads Are Gonna Roll," "Don't Know Why," "Until Next Time," "Bitter Shame," "Nothin' Left To Lose," "In These Walls," "You Were The One"

VIDEO "Heads Are Gonna Roll"

Monday, January 25, 2016

Voodoo Zombie
"Santa Muerte" ( self)

Ancient, arcane spell-casting and puzzle-shrouded alchemy continue on inexorable eve march, impelled to icy-veined command by startling alacrity, thunderclap authority. Listen, passion-clenched, as savage Chilean psycho-beasts rail in determined cacophony with razor-hacked, multi-hued delicious awfulness. And see the skeletons dance...

Recommended "Santa Muerte," "Video Snuff," "Lost In the City of Vampires," "Estas Botos Son Para Kaminar," "Roller Derby Go!," "Whiskill," "Hombre Voodoo Espanol"

VIDEO "Video Snuff" (live)